We all know the importance of backing up our files.  There are surely dozens of ways to go about this chore regardless of the OS in use.  Back in Windows XP I wrote my own Batch file that I ran every couple of days.  It was easy to remember because I placed a shortcut icon right on the desktop.  The Windows Batch file uses the XCOPY command.  Basically it will copy new or changed files to the backup disk.  Very reliable over the years.

So I was looking for something similar in Mint, but with a GUI.  I tried several solutions that gave me problems or were overly complicated.  There is a Linux program called Simple Backup.  The GUI was easy enough.  However Simple Backup wants to compress my source files and place them all in an Archive file.  Trouble was, I was backing up to a FAT32 drive which has a maximum file size of 4.3 GB.  So it failed.

I reformatted (using the built-in Windows CONVERT program) the FAT32 USB drive to NTFS.  Using CONVERT instead of FORMAT will preserve data already on the drive.

A friend told me about a Linux backup program he really likes.  And now I like it too!  It is called Lucky Backup.  (See link below.)  The GUI is very simple and intuitive, and it operates simply also.  Just specify source and target directories (folders) and it copies them over.  After the first time, it only copies over files that have changed.  Lucky Backup is based on the RSYNC command in Linux.  It also has a scheduler feature which is handy.  One less chore to remember.

http://luckybackup.sourceforge.net/features.html

One more thing I discovered with LuckyBackup:  When source folders and files are deleted from the source file system, LuckyBackup will also delete them on the back-up file system.  This is good or bad, depending on how you look at it.  Personally I really like this feature because I can be sure my back-up files are the same as my source files, without a lot of old unneeded files included in there.  Besides, if I accidentally delete a file, most times it is in Recycle Bin.  Even if the deleted file is not in Recycle Bin, it will be found in the back-up file system *until* LuckyBackup is executed again.

